skip to Main Content

How to Deactivate & Delete Facebook Account?

Author:

You are here:

What’s the difference between deactivating and deleting my account?

You can deactivate or delete your account at any time.
You may deactivate your account for any number of temporary reasons. This option gives you the flexibility to leave and come back whenever you want. If you deactivate your account:

 People won’t be able to see the information on your Timeline on Facebook.
 People on Facebook will not be able to search for you.
 Some information, like messages you sent, may still be visible to others.
 We save the information in your account (ex: friends, photos, interests), just in case you want to come back to Facebook at some point. If you choose to reactivate your account, the information on your profile will be there when you come back.

If you permanently delete your account:

 You will not be able to regain access to your account.
 Some of the things you do on Facebook aren’t stored in your account. For example, a friend may still have messages from you even after you delete your account. That information remains after you delete your account.
 It may take up to 90 days to delete all of the things you’ve posted, like your photos, status updates or other data stored in backup systems. While we are deleting this information, it is inaccessible to other people using Facebook.
 Copies of some material (ex: log records) may remain in our database for technical reasons. When you delete your account, this material is disassociated from any personal identifiers.

How do I deactivate my account?

You can deactivate your account temporarily and choose to come back whenever you want.
To deactivate your account:
1. Click the account menu at the top right of any Facebook page
2. Select Settings
3. Click Security in the left column
4. Choose Deactivate your account then follow the steps to confirm
If you deactivate your account your profile won’t be visible to other people on Facebook and people won’t be able to search for you, though some information, such as messages you sent to friends, may still be visible to others.
If you’d like to come back to Facebook anytime after you’ve deactivated your account, you can reactivate your account by logging in with your email and password. Your profile will be restored in its entirety (ex: friends, photos and interests). Remember that you will need to have access to the login email address for your account in order to reactivate it.
If you can’t get into your account, you can reset your password.
To permanently delete your account:
Permanently deleting your account means you will not ever be able to reactivate or retrieve any of the content or information you’ve added. If you would like to permanently delete your account with no option for recovery, please contact us.

I did not reactivate my account but I got an email from facebook saying that I did?

If you got an email saying your account’s been reactivated and you didn’t request this, it’s possible that another person attempted to log into your account using your email address and password. We recommend that you reset your password.
You should also make sure that any email addresses associated with your account are secure. Remember that anyone who can read your email can probably also access your Facebook account.
I am trying to deactivate my account – why facebook telling me I will have to wait 24 hours before logging in when I reactivate it?

We’ve noticed that this isn’t the first time you’re deactivating your account. While we want to make sure you have plenty of options, it can be confusing to your friends when you disappear. Try taking advantage of your privacy settings to control that sees your information.
If you still want to deactivate your account, next time you reactivate it you will need to wait 24 hours before logging in. Just follow the same reactivation process as before. When you log in, you will see a clock showing you how much longer you have to wait. We’ll also send you an email when this 24 hour period is up.

Deleting Accounts

How do I permanently delete my account?

If you don’t think you’ll use Facebook again, you can request to have your account permanently deleted. Please keep in mind that you won’t be able to reactivate your account or retrieve anything you’ve added. Before you do this, you may want to download a copy of your info from Facebook. Then, if you’d like your account permanently deleted with no option for recovery, log into your account and let us know.
When you delete your account, people won’t be able to see it on Facebook. It may take up to 90 days to delete all of the things you’ve posted, like your photos, status updates or other data stored in backup systems. While we are deleting this information, it is inaccessible to other people using Facebook.
Some of the things you do on Facebook aren’t stored in your account. For example, a friend may still have messages from you even after you delete your account. That information remains after you delete your account.
What happens when my account has a pending deletion request?
After you request to have your account permanently deleted, we delay the deletion process a few days in case you change your mind. If you log into your account again during this time you’ll cancel your deletion request.

How can I opt out of receiving invitation or reminder emails from Facebook?

If you have an account:
 Go to your notification settings
 Click Edit next to the notification types you want to receive and make sure the appropriate boxes are checked
You can also follow the unsubscribe link instructions located at the bottom of any email message from Facebook.
If you don’t have a Facebook account, you can opt out of receiving emails from Facebook by clicking the link at the bottom of any invitation email. Doing so will put your email address on a “Do not Email” list.

    If you are facing any kind of issue please contact us our Toll-free number 1-800-293-9401

Tags:
Was this article helpful?
Dislike 0
Views: 77

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top